The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contains high-quality, independent evidence that inform healthcare decision-making. It is primarily used for its database of systematic reviews and has many clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. Use this resource when looking for evidence-based information.
- How do I cite in AMA?
- How do I cite in APA Style?
- What are systematic reviews?
- What are the databases included in Cochrane Library?
- What is Evidence-based Practice?
- What is the process for critical appraisal of research studies?
- Where do I search for journal papers published from direct funding from the National Institute of Health?
- Where do I find current clinical studies?
- Where do I find the meaning for abbreviated titles of journals in NCBI Databases such as PubMed?
See the video on searching in the Cochrane Library for systematic reviews above. It is both informative about the Cochrane Library and shows how to create a simple search. To search by subject in the Libraries Catalog, Cochrane Library, or PubMed, MeSH terms may be used for better results. If you are not sure what MeSH is, watch the video, "Mesh Headings Part I & Part II". See it below with the PubMed Advanced Search Tutorial.
Perform a search in the OT Libraries catalog and see print and electronic titles such as these:
Painless Evidence-Based Medicine
Pharmacist's Guide to Evidence-Based Medicine for Clinical Decision Making (Includes EBM Glossary.)
Trisha Greenlaugh's book, How to Read a Paper, 2014 is available in print and elctronic format.
Starting points for Health Statistics
Finding and Using Health Staistics (Tutorial)
Berkley’s Glossary of Statistical Terms (Website)
United States websites
Data.gov, CDC Data & Statistics,
Oregon Tech Libraries Electronic Resources and
Oregon Tech Libraries Statistical Resources Topic Guide
Finding and Using Health Statistics (Tutorial)
Health Statistics: Glossary of Terms
University of Chicago
Black's Medical Dictionary
Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviatons
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Evidence Based Dentistry
ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry