Top Resources
Engineering Village/EI Compendex
No full-text. Indexing and abstracts. Find information on all aspects of engineering. Use the Find It button for locating material.
Applied Science and Technology
Some full-text. Covers chemistry, engineering, mathematics, physics, computer technology, and energy-related disciplines. Includes articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, new product reviews/announcements, and more. Covers 1983 - present.
 
Librarians

Karen Kunz

Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen

More places to search
Computer Source
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
GEN ProceedingsFirst
Provides tables of contents data for papers presented at conferences worldwide. Covers 1993 - present.
O'Reilly for Higher Education Provides books online for programmers and IT professionals. You can search through all the technical books in the library to find specific information or read books from cover to cover. You can also browse by category.
ASME Digital Library
Full-text. Access to ASME Journals.



 
Good to know
IEEE Xplore - searching this resource is free. Use the library to find full articles or request articles we do not own

Google Scholar is great for finding who has cited an article. Search an article title, then click on cited by under the article information. Don't pay for what you find though, come back to the library site and search the titles there to find full sources or request what we don't have. 
Finding Patents

US Patent and Trademark Office

The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO or Office) is an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce. The role of the USPTO is to grant patents for the protection of inventions and to register trademarks. The USPTO examines applications and grants patents on inventions when applicants are entitled to them; it publishes and disseminates patent information, records assignments of patents, and maintains search files of U.S. and foreign patents. The Office supplies copies of patents and official records to the public.

Google Patents
A more general patent search that willinclude US and international patents.
 

patent info searching three ways
Last Updated February 2021