Top Resources
CINAHL with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) database is an excellent source of full-text articles for nursing and many other health-related disciplines. Provides extensive coverage of the literature related to nursing, dental care, medical imaging, and other health-care related sources.     

MED Medline Restricted Resource Some full text available
Created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine, this database indexes and provides abstracts for articles published in more than 4,800 current biomedical journals. Covers clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care administration, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
 
 
Librarians

Alla Powers

Some Places to Get Started
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available :
A general, multi-disciplinary database that provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for research in all academic disciplines. Offers balanced coverage of academic topics - from advertising and microbiology to history and women's studies. Combines indexing, abstracts, full text and images.


 
Assignment
Research a current topic in medical science in order to give a 20-25-minute presentation on the topic.

To find relevant up-to-date scholarly articles on your topics, use the databases in this Subject Guide.

Start with a general interest database, like Academic Search Complete.

Then go to a subject-specific datanbase like CINAHL to retrieve articles from medical journals and in order to apply more criteria to your search statement.

As a reminder of what a peer-reviewed article is, take a look at the video to the right.
 
More Resources
Google Scholar
This search engine enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material. For resources not in full text search the OIT Library catalog and databases.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Contains citations and summaries from the world's serial and book literature in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 30 languages.  From the American Psychological Association (APA). 1872 - present. 

PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. From the American Psychological Association (APA). 1985- present.

MED PubMed Unrestricted Resource
Database contains articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Contains no full-text but provides links to many full articles. Maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

 
Questions? Ask Alla!
 
Created 09/2019